Mentor Program

Line Ørnes Søndergaard



Oslo, Norway



Line Ørnes Søndergaard was born in 1986 and is a visual storyteller from Oslo, Norway. Her background is in documentary-film and television before she turned to photography, completing her BA in photojournalism at Oslo Metropolitan University in 2014.

Apart from her personal long-term projects, she is an established editorial photographer in Scandinavia, including regularly commissioned portraits and reportage features. She has won several awards at the Norwegian Picture of The Year and received international recognition from NPPA, POYI, PDN and CPOY.

Her first large project, Time to Rest, dealt with the psychological aspect of belonging to a stigmatised group in an industry in decline. The sleeping long-haul truck drivers in the Norwegian landscape became a transmedial project that received international attention and was awarded in POYI.

In 2016, she was selected and included in World Press Photo’s Joop Swart Masterclass. In 2017, she was chosen to be part of the Norwegian Journal of Photography, a program supporting eight independent photographers in Norway.

Søndergaard’s work deals with social and political issues, often using intimate encounters as the framework for her projects.

Line is mentored by Linda Bournane Engelberth.


Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Contact us

VII Photo Agency

PO Box 621
Manville, NJ

+1 646-694-8447

Licensing & Assignments

Redux Pictures
+1 212-253-0399

Stay connected

Visit the store

VII Photo Store

The VII Online Bookstore features rare, limited edition, and signed photography books by the photographers of VII.



  • Anush Babajanyan
  • Jessica Dimmock
  • Linda Bournane Engelberth
  • Danny Wilcox Frazier
  • Ziyah Gafic
  • Mary Gelman
  • Ashley Gilbertson
  • Ron Haviv
  • Ed Kashi
  • Maciek Nabrdalik
  • Ilvy Njiokiktjien
  • Nichole Sobecki


  • Jocelyn Bain Hogg
  • Philip Blenkinsop
  • Eric Bouvet
  • Stefano De Luigi
  • Gary Knight
  • Joachim Ladefoged
  • Paul Lowe
  • Christopher Morris
  • Seamus Murphy
  • Franco Pagetti
  • Espen Rasmussen
  • Daniel Schwartz
  • Maggie Steber
  • John Stanmeyer
  • Sara Terry
  • Tomas van Houtryve
  • The Estate of Alexandra Boulat

Mentor Program

  • Taha Ahmad
  • Forough Alaei
  • Ali Arkady
  • Zinyange Auntony
  • Leonardo Carrato
  • Fabiola Ferrero
  • Swarat Ghosh
  • Hector Guerrero
  • Christopher Lee
  • Fred Ramos
  • Prin Rodriguez
  • Valentina Sinis
  • Line Ørnes Søndergaard
  • Nolan Ryan Trowe