Zackary Canepari



Berkeley, California



Zackary Canepari  (USA, 1979) is a visual storyteller working in a variety of different mediums. He began his career as a photojournalist in India/Pakistan before teaming with filmmaker Drea Cooper in 2010 and launching "California is a place," a documentary film series which screened at Sundance and was viewed more than two million times.

The California series created new opportunities in both the commercial space and the editorial space for Canepari’s work and led to the project that first sent him to Flint, Michigan. The documentary feature film "T-Rex," also co-directed by Drea Cooper, told the story of teenage Olympic boxer and Flint native, Claressa "T-Rex" Shields. "T-Rex" premiered at SXSW in March 2015 and was featured on PBS in August 2016. 

Canepari then released his first monograph about Flint, titled "REX," which was published by Contrasto and won Photobook of the Year at the POYi Awards. In 2016, he launched "Flint is a place," a sort of version 2.0 to the California project. "Flint is a place" consists of reportage, short films, found photos, virtual reality, interactive maps, and archival material. Canepari’s ongoing work in Flint resulted in his first World Press Photo Award and being named as Multimedia Photographer of the Year at the POYi Awards in 2016.  "Flint is a place" is funded by a Guggenheim Fellowship and will be completed by the end of 2018.


    Upcoming Events

    There are no upcoming events at this time.


    Coming soon!

    Contact us

    VII Photo Agency

    PO Box 621
    Manville, NJ

    +1 646-694-8447

    Licensing & Assignments

    Redux Pictures
    +1 212-253-0399

    Stay connected

    Visit the store

    VII Photo Store

    The VII Online Bookstore features rare, limited edition, and signed photography books by the photographers of VII.



    • Anush Babajanyan
    • Zackary Canepari
    • Jessica Dimmock
    • Linda Bournane Engelberth
    • Danny Wilcox Frazier
    • Ziyah Gafic
    • Ashley Gilbertson
    • Ron Haviv
    • Ed Kashi
    • Maciek Nabrdalik
    • Ilvy Njiokiktjien
    • Carlos Javier Ortiz
    • Ruddy Roye
    • Nichole Sobecki
    • Tomas Van Houtryve


    • Jocelyn Bain Hogg
    • Philip Blenkinsop
    • Stefano De Luigi
    • Gary Knight
    • Antonin Kratochvil
    • Joachim Ladefoged
    • Paul Lowe
    • Christopher Morris
    • Seamus Murphy
    • Franco Pagetti
    • Daniel Schwartz
    • Maggie Steber
    • John Stanmeyer
    • Sara Terry
    • The Estate of Alexandra Boulat

    Mentor Program

    • Ali Arkady
    • Leonardo Carrato
    • Sharon Castellanos
    • Fabiola Ferrero
    • Hector Guerrero
    • Christopher Lee
    • Esther Ruth Mbabazi
    • Valentina Sinis
    • Line Ørnes Søndergaard
    • Mathias Svold


    © 2018 - VII PHOTO AGENCY, LLC.