VII Interactive Book Club. Homesick by Maciek Nabrdalik

Date

April 26, 2020
10:00–11:00AM EDT

This live event is on April 26 at 16:00 CET/10:00 EDT.

Homesick by Maciek Nabrdalik is a study of the Chernobyl disaster as a sociological catastrophe, photographed in the Exclusion Zone, a place he visited 14 times over 10 years.

In Chernobyl Prayer, Svetlana Alexievich observed that the Chernobyl disaster should be described with similar words one uses to describe war: explosion, fire, evacuation, the military, damage, casualties, and monuments. If we look into the consequences of the Chernobyl event on a psychological level, we see similarities to the similar post-traumatic stress experienced post-conflict.

In 2017, Homesick received the Judges’ Special Recognition Award from Pictures of the Year International.

Learn more about the book

Subscribe to our mailing list to get access to this free live event.

 

powered by Typeform