VII Interactive Book Club. “Island of the Spirits” by John Stanmeyer

Date

May 22, 2020
10:00–11:00AM EDT

This live event is on May 22 at 16:00 CET/10:00 EDT.

Join John Stanmeyer on May 22 at 16:00 CET/10:00 EDT for a book club discussion of Island of the Spiritsmoderated by Ziyah Gafic. Spirits are everywhere in Bali. Trees, temples, mountains, stones, water appear sacred to the Balinese, all serving as a hand reaching out and into the other world of ancestors and gods and the maelstrom of good and evil. Balinese spiritual culture has its roots in Indian Hinduism, Buddhism and ancient animist beliefs, first originating in East Java. Centuries-old ceremonies with deeply layered rituals are very much alive today. John Stanmeyer spent five years living in Bali, creating this reportage through the uninhibited and timeless lens of a Holga. His photographs capture practices from decades past, transcending the temporal as they live on today and into the unforeseen future. This body of work stresses the historicity of spiritual life of Bali, consisting of deeply layered imagery that is witnessed, understood and explained in full by few, yet practiced by millions.

 

Subscribe to our mailing list to get access to this free live event.

 

powered by Typeform